1000G-ONT image


About the 1000G ONT Sequencing Consortium

The goal of the 1000 Genomes Project ONT Sequencing Consortium is to perform long-read sequencing of all 1000 Genomes Project samples using Nanopore technology. In collaboration with Oxford Nanopore, we are starting by sequencing 500 of the samples with the long-term goal of sequencing all of the available 3,000+ samples. This dataset will allow us to better understand patterns of human structural variation, identify variation in difficult-to-map regions, and study methylation patterns. Our consortium is open to all. Please e-mail Danny Miller if you are interested in joining the consortium.

Our project kickoff meeting took place on Thursday, June 30, 2022 at 1600 GMT (1200 EST, 0900 PST). The next meeting will be at the end of July or early August 2022. Please contact Danny to be added to the Slack group.

1000G-ONT

Who We Are

We are a collaborative group of researchers from around the world interested in using long-read sequencing to identify missing disease-causing variation and understanding the distribution of structural variants in the population. The project is led by Danny Miller and Evan Eichler, both at the University of Washington. Please check back later for information on who will be leading specific projects.

1000G-ONT

The Technology

Long-read sequencing is being performed on the Oxford Nanopore platform. This technology works by measuring changes in current as single-stranded DNA or RNA molecules pass through a protein pore. For this project, we are aiming for average read lengths of 50 kb and 30x-40x coverage of each sample.

1000G-ONT

Data

Data generated by the 1000G ONT Sequencing Consortium will be made publicly available as they are generated, after basecalling and standard QC.

1000G-ONT

Join Us

The consortium is open to all. To join, contact Danny Miller.